"This human body is the greatest body in the universe, and a human being the greatest being. Man is higher than all animals, than all angels; none is greater than man. Even the devas (gods) will have to come down again and attain to salvation through a human body. Man alone attains to perfection...In the animal the man was suppressed, but as soon as the door was opened, out rushed man. So in man there is the potential god, kept in by the locks and bars of ignorance. When knowledge breaks these bars, the god becomes manifest." - Swami Vivekananda















































































































VEDANTA MASS MEDIARulers of Nepal: Chronology




             Rulers of Nepal: Chronology

     Following is the chronology of important developments in the history of Nepal.


     1768 - Shah dynasty begins after Gurkha ruler Prithvi Narayan Shah conquers Kathmandu and lays foundations for a unified kingdom.


     1792 - Nepalese aggression halted by defeat at hands of Chinese in Tibet.


     1814-16 - Anglo-Nepalese war; culminates in treaty which establishes Nepal's current boundaries.


     1846 - Jang Bahadur Rana becomes Prime Minister. Establishes the hereditary rule of Ranas.


     1923 - Treaty with Britain affirms Nepal's sovereignty.


     1946 - Nepali Congress Party established.


     1948 - First Constitution of Nepal promulgated.


     1950 - King Tribhuvan, present King Gyanendra's grandfather, flees to India after falling out with the Ranas. Ranas implicate him in a conspiracy against them. Anti-Rana forces based in India form alliance with monarch.


     1951 - End of Rana rule. King Tribhuvan restored.


     1955 - King Tribhuwan dies, King Mahendra ascends throne.


     1959 - Multi-party Constitution adopted.


     1960 - King Mahendra seizes control and suspends Parliament, Constitution and party politics after Nepali Congress wins elections with B P Koirala as premier.


     1972 - King Mahendra dies, succeeded by Birendra.


     1980 - Constitutional referendum follows agitation for reform. King agrees to allow direct elections to national assembly - but on a non-party basis.


     1985 - Nepali Congress begins civil disobedience campaign for restoration of multi-party system.


     1989 - Trade and transit dispute with India leads to border blockade by New Delhi.


     1990 - Pro-democracy agitation co-ordinated by Nepali Congress and Leftist groups. King Birendra bows to pressure and proclaims a new Constitution establishing multy-party democracy under Constitutional monarchy.


     1991 - Nepali Congress wins first democratic elections. Girija Prasad Koirala becomes Prime Minister.


     1994 - Koirala's government defeated in no-confidence motion. New elections lead to formation of leftist government.


     1995 - Communist government dissolved.


     1995 - Maoists launch armed agitation to abolish monarch and establishing people's republic.


     1997 - Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba loses no-confidence vote.


     2000 - GP Koirala returns as Prime Minister.


     2001 1 June - King Birendra, Queen Aishwarya and other close relatives killed in shooting spree by drunken crown Prince Dipendra, who then shoots himself. Prince Gyanendra becomes King.


     2001 July - Maoist rebels step up violence. Premier Koirala quits over the violence; Sher Bahadur Deuba becomes Prime Minister.


     2001 November - State of emergency declared after more than 100 people are killed in four days of violence. King Gyanendra orders Army to crush the Maoist rebels.


     2002 May - Parliament dissolved, fresh elections called amid political confrontation over extending the state of emergency. Sher Bahadur Deuba heads interim government.


     2002 October - King Gyanendra dismisses Deuba and indefinitely puts off elections set for November. Lokendra Bahadur Chand appointed as Prime Minister.


     2003 January - Rebels, government declare ceasefire.


     2003 May-June - Lokendra Bahadur Chand resigns; King appoints Surya Bahadur Thapa as new premier.


     2003 August - Rebels pull out of peace talks.


     2004 May - Prime Minister Surya Bahadur Thapa resigns following weeks of street protests by opposition groups.


     2004 June - King Gyanendra reappoints Sher Bahadur Deuba as Prime Minister with the task of holding elections.


     2005 February 1 - King Gyanendra dismisses Prime Minister Deuba and his government, declares a state of emergency.


     2005 April 30 - King lifts the state of emergency.


     2005 November - Maoist rebels and main opposition parties agree on a programme intended to restore democracy.


     2006 April - King Gyanendra agrees to reinstate parliament following weeks of violent strikes and protests against direct royal rule. GP koirala is appointed as Prime Minister. Maoist rebels call a three-month ceasefire.


     2006 May - Parliament votes unanimously to curtail the King's powers.


     2006 16 June - Prachanda and premier Koirala hold talks.


     2006 November - The government and maoists sign a historic peace accord.


     2007 January - Maoist leaders enter Parliament under the terms of Interim Constitution.


     2007 April - Maoists rebels join interim government.


     2007 May - Elections postponed to November.


     2007 September - Maoists quit interim government to press demand for monarchy to be scrapped.


     2007 October - Elections are again postponed.


     2007 December - Parliament approves abolition of monarchy as part of peace deal with Maoists, who agree to re-join government. Mainstream parties and the Maoists agree to hold elections by mid-April 2008.


     2008 April 10 - Nepal votes in elections for a Constituent Assembly to rewrite the country's constitution. The Maoists win 220 of 601 seats in the elections.


     2008 May 28 - The new Constituent Assembly is sworn in. CA abolishes 240-year-old monarchy. Declares Nepal a republic and asks Gyanendra to vacate Narayanhti Palace within 15 days.


     2008 June 11 - Gyanendra vacates royal palace.




     Bureau Report






     Prabuddha Bharata>>>

     Vedanta Kesari>>>

     Vedanta Mass Media>>>


International Yoga Day 21 June 2015
International Yoga Day 21 June 2015


Яндекс цитирования Rambler's Top100